Basic Muffin Recipe (featuring dried fruit and nuts)

While this is mostly a craft blog and my shop blog for my Etsy, I love baking and anyone who knows me always looks forward to my next set of treats. Now and then I’ll post some of my more successful (and possibly famous) recipes, but even explaining all of this just reminds me of how every food blog out there has some sidestory before getting down to business. I know it’s out of formality, but let’s face it, even I scroll past those paragraphs just to find what I’m looking for. I’m a terrible person like that. Please forgive me.

Anyway, the short end behind this update is that I brought these muffins in for work today and they were gone within moments. Everyone asked me for the recipe so here it is!

The tray used is from fellow Etsy shopkeeper mymimi! Click on the photo to check it out!
The tray used is from fellow Etsy shopkeeper mymimi! Click on the photo to check it out!

Basic Muffin Base (good for adding dried fruit and nuts. Sadly I lost the original source of this recipe years ago but if I find it I will let you know!)

Yield: 12 muffins

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup softened butter (1 stick)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp grated orange peel
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts*
  • 1 cup chopped dried fruit*

*Use whichever fruits or nuts you like. For mine, I made half a batch of dates and walnuts, and another cranberries and walnuts.

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Grease the bottom of your muffin tins (or a 9″ loaf pan if making a quick bread), or place cupcake liners into muffin tins.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add the buttermilk and eggs; blend well.
  3. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and soda, and salt. Add the dried fruit and nuts, and mix well. (You may also add in the orange peel at this point but I prefer smothering it on top before baking for a big burst of citrus flavor. The co-workers also agreed.) Add to buttermilk mixture and stir until moistened.
  4. Scoop batter into muffin tins or pour into loaf pan, filling 3/4 of the way. Bake at 350°F for 25 to 35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted comes out clean and tops are golden brown. (Depending on your oven it may take up to 55 minutes but mine bakes pretty fast.) Set muffins or loaf pan out to cool for 15 minutes before removing.

This muffin base is easy and delicious, good for all sorts of fix-ins and delicious with a little spread of butter on top (or not)! Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

