Post-con review: ConnectiCon 2015

I’ve gone to conventions for a long time now, but I only started going out of state as of two years back. My friends and I first stumbled upon ConnectiCon from other friends in that area, and also the amazing guests they kept on getting every year. Needless to say, after years of local multi-genre cons (some better than others) and New York Comic-Cons that increasingly can’t fit its convention space any longer, we now call this Hartford gem our home away from home. Every year we (try to) patiently tally off the days until our Disneyland arrives, and every time we always feel like the weekend is never enough!

IMG_20150710_130309999

IMG_20150710_210924632
Day or night, the downtown is just gorgeous and so much more relaxed than Manhattan!

My cosplay lineup ended up changing from  my last post (again). My wig for Allenby was pretty much destroyed from the sharpie coloring and I was not satisfied with it. I will go back and order a replacement blue one for the next time, so my Sunday cosplay was replaced with Mismagius (Pokemon), which I wore last CtCon come to think of it. Friday was Parasoul though (ironically worn from my first CtCon), and I met amazing guests for autographs! I was able to meet Phil LaMarr and got a present signed for a special person (I cannot reveal what and who at this time since I have to give it still), he was incredibly nice and was able to talk to everyone despite having a long line. I also met Samm Levine from Freaks and Geeks fame, one of my favorite shows from high school. He was super sweet and I even got a photo with him too! That pic is on a friend’s nice D-SLR camera though so I’m still waiting for it to be uploaded but it will be added here when it arrives.

After my autographs were done for the con, I did some gift shopping for friends and family and met up with the boyfriend ^^ who also happens to be a certain superhero with a jetpack.

Thank you fcwriters.com for the awesome photo! (click for their full gallery)
Thank you fcwriters.com for the awesome photo! (click for their full gallery)

I don’t think I ever got a full photo of my Parasoul cosplay before, and aside from friends’ photos, that would only be one of the two taken of my stuff from this con! (Trust me, if you asked me 4 years ago if a situation like that would bother me, the answer would be a huffy “YES” but these days since I’ve done it so long I don’t really care if I get a photo of me at all these days. I mostly cosplay nowadays to match my friends, have fun and catch up with them, and because I just enjoy creating things in general.)

This year, the convention coincided with the Riverfront Food Truck festival, and it was delicious! I had some divine popcorn chicken that day, and my first ever po’ boy on Saturday. I really hope they keep the festival around the same time for next year. If you are of age and also enjoy a nice bar and lounge, the adjacent Marriott has a very posh one named Crush and they have great service. If you’re looking for Happy Hour specials you’re out of luck though, but it is lovely and convenient. I personally think the music is still too loud there, but I was still able to hold conversations at least.

For Saturday, I got ready for my big day!

13438
Get it? Because Elphelt wears a wedding dress……….yeah

My friends were super sweet to help me into the dress though and place all my belts! Dang you Ishiwatari….you and your belts…I can imagine the jokes now. “Nomura and Ishiwatari walk into a bar…”

Unfortunately, there were some mishaps with El along the week before and during the con. My white outer gloves did not fit me at all so they will have to be remade for next time, and the same also happened to my cute capelet! I had to tie it around me as a little cape so at least I got to wear it and keep the AC off my back if I got too cold. (Which never happened to me this weekend by the way. It’s a convention in July.) Also despite the fact that my belts did hold up at least, the buckles need some post-con repairs so I was able to figure out how to secure them better. This will be better covered in my upcoming tutorial, which you’ve seen sneak peeks of between here and Instagram.

That aside, the spikes held up insanely well, and I also realized the costume packs very easily despite them kudos to it being made of paper. I was all worried and ended up bringing my large rolling luggage to accomodate cushion space, but next time I know I can just bring a smaller carry-on size and not worry. So tailoring issues aside, the cosplay was a success and I would totally wear again!

IMG_20150710_135512530
Did I also mention I saw this awesome Ragna? He was so nice too! He even had the glowing Azure gloves! Makes me miss my fem-Ragna cosplay…

Later that Saturday I attended the Masquerade to cheer Superhero Jetpack Boyfriend on, which in reality was more like the following:

  • Saw a dance battle for a chance to win next year’s badges
  • Saw a cool Disney skit before boyfriend’s also-awesomely-creepy one
  • Felt my butt get numb after 20 minutes so I went to order take-out for us
  • Came back and there was Caramelldansen due to technical difficulties
  • Stuff with awards (congrats on the Disney folks btw!)

It….was interesting. But it was definitely a better experience than I had anticipated. For a long time I was kind of Scaredy Squirrel when it came to stuff like that, but I did end up enjoying it all in a sense. I would do it again!

Sunday was Mismagius, in which I had to say bye to people and made a Pokemon fan happy! Unfortunately no photo offhand of it ^^; this was mostly a shopping day for me. Speaking of, here is some cool stuff I got!

IMG_20150712_204740
A few of this stuff came in handy immediately since I needed replacements due to laundry day. The peacock scarf will also be worn when I attend the New York Renaissance Faire this year too!
IMG_20150712_204859
Autographed items from Samm Levine, including my D&D dicebox set!
IMG_20150713_122855
A friend got me this as a surprise from Sanrio Japan! It arrived the day after the con weekend so it was good timing ^^

So that pretty much was the con in a nutshell. I had a blast and I look forward to next year! If you’ve considered going but are not sure, please give it a shot, I highly recommend. Aside from my artist alleys I pretty much only attend this convention these days. (Money issues aside. I don’t have the funds to go to 5 cons a year lol)

Next update will be for upcoming shop items and LI-Con2 exclusives!

One thought on “Post-con review: ConnectiCon 2015

Leave a Reply

