Chocolate Raspberry Mini Donuts

There was a dessert potluck at work last week, and these little donuts were a massive hit! I plan to revise this recipe as well though, since many of the ingredients I used where on a whim as quick substitutes (pantry basics were kind of absent that day, oops!). But in the mean time I’m more than happy to put in my recommendations if you’re not feeling super adventurous.

IMG_20151110_230247
Assembling the army!

By the way, a donut pan (I used a mini here) is the best investment you will ever make when it comes to donuts. So much easier! Donut pans can be found at most major arts and crafts stores like Michael’s, JoAnns, etc., for around $8. Use a coupon and get two like I did, and you’ll be cranking out little treasures in a snap.

The recipe below is for the batter only; I used a chocolate raspberry ganache that I made earlier in the month for a different recipe, so I used the remainder for these (I followed that one straightforward so it’s not my recipe but I will link it here). Any other frosting/glaze or powdered sugar will do just fine for the donuts here though, but I love the tangy sweetness of the raspberry. Reminds me of those chocolate-covered jello ring candies!

IMG_20151110_230035
mmm…donut….

Chocolate Raspberry Mini Donuts – yield 5 dozen
(the following is the batter only; ganache can be found here)

  • 1 chocolate cake box mix
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk (plus extra for consistency)
  • 2 tbsp strong coffee
  • **I used substitutes since I had no eggs and didn’t want to make them dense with oil. If you happen to have your pantry stocked properly (unlike myself that day!), follow the measurements from the boxed cake instead but put one less egg.
  • 1 cup raspberry ganache, see recipe
  • autumn-colored sprinkles for decoration
  • **powdered sugar or any other type of glaze can also be used instead
  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F.
  2. Mix all of your ingredients minus the ganache and sprinkles together. The batter should be thick but spreadable enough if squeezed through a piping bag. Pour in more milk so it comes together well, but in case you put too much and it’s too wet, put in 1/2 tsp of flour and unsweetened cocoa powder each, until it comes together again.
  3. Spoon batter into a piping bag or a large Ziploc bag with the corner cut out. Butter your donut pans and pipe the batter in halfway. Bake the donuts for 5-7 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let donuts cool for about a minute and place them onto a tray for decorating.
  4. To decorate, dip one side of the donut into the ganache and pour sprinkles while still wet. The ganache will harden in room temperature but to speed things up, placing the donuts in the freezer with a parchment or dried wax paper on top is fine too. (If you’re using a different glaze or powdered sugar, you can decorate accordingly.)

I made delicious 2-ingredient pumpkin donuts for Halloween as my first trial with these pans, and I was hooked! Between that and these donuts, I look forward to making more – maybe even for the holidays!

Leave a Reply

