Take my Shopkin, my seafood, and all of my craft foam! Shining Bucket!!

Now that I have your attention, I can explain why it took me so long to post some progress again!

IMG_20160625_140314195
I really own a Shopkin now! He’s a cute little book! A co-worker gave him to me ^^.
IMG_20160624_194549293
I also finally went to the legendary Pop’s Seafood Shack on Long Island. I still dream of doze oystehz.

I am happy to announce that my Phasma costume is about 95% completed, just in time for CtCon in 10 days! Wow!! Aside from a holiday 3-day weekend, it’s the only other weekend I care about throughout the year. Hey, I’m honest.

phasmaWIP-armor2
The craft foam armor actually reflects! Say whaaaaaa
phasmaWIP-holster
My blaster holster. Really is just pleather glued together. Glue is my best friend.

If you saw my Instagram eons ago, you saw the helmet getting its layers of gesso and sanding….and more gesso and more sanding….I basically lost count after 6 layers and decided enough was enough. So I whipped out my other favorite glue besides Fabritac and Krazy, which is dimensional fabric/3D glue.

The bottom-right is the helmet after the 3D glue, and then the finished results going counter-clockwise. (Sorry for the weird order, it was how the site compiled the collage.) Some battle damage got scuffed on before I glued in the lenses! In regular photos you don’t see my eyes and the lenses don’t reflect, so I tilted my head here so you can see them better. I’m really excited to wear this for the con!!

Of course, on my journey to find references of her gloves so I could start on the armor plating for that, I saw someone made a pepakura pattern for her helmet! Oh well. It basically is almost the same as the standard First Order troopers anyhoo.

For my next post (unless the con happens before then, then after that!), I hope to bring some exciting news! Here is a preview:

woman_preview
Coming soon…
Leave a Reply

