Delicious Winter Chili (and some epic choco-chip cookies!)

Happy 2017, everyone! I hope your holiday season was well too. Since I bake/cook more often for holiday potlucks and my annual cookie run, I decided to also post one of my recipes I made recently for it! My friends at Otaku Recipes featured my beloved chocolate chip cookies (I was a previous collaborator).

tumblr_n3bkg3czsu1s4jgamo2_r1_1280
Click for the cookie recipe! (Thanks Kar for the photo!)

Lately I’ve been putting together a recipe box featuring the best of my recipes, as well as family recipes from my mom and my grandmothers. I used the cards from here but next time I plan to enlarge them, since they kind of run small.

img_20170106_1141433332

img_20170106_1142369392
Magic is in this box :)…

Now finally, onto the dang chili!

Delicious Winter Chili (4-qt. slow cooker)

Yield: 10 to 12 people

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs. ground beef
  • 2 (15.5 oz.) cans red or kidney beans, washed and drained
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, grated
  • 2 large red peppers, chopped
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup beer (use whatever you like to drink)
  • 2 hot chili peppers, deseeded and chopped (depending on the crowd I use jalapeños or habaneros)
  • 1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste
  • 3/4 tsp. ground sage
  • 3/4 tsp. ground thyme
  • 1 1/2 tsp. garam masala
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  1. Put all ingredients except the ground beef in the slow cooker and stir to combine.
  2. In a large skillet, brown the beef until cooked. Drain the fat and add the beef to the slow cooker. Stir to combine.
  3. Cover the slow cooker and set on LOW for 5 to 6 hours, or HIGH for 3 to 4 hours. Do not lift the cover! 
  4. Serve warm with cheese, rice, and/or tortilla chips, eggs, etc!
img_20170106_1133559592
Gosh, I can just smell it from here.

What are your favorite things to cook or bake in winter?

One thought on “Delicious Winter Chili (and some epic choco-chip cookies!)

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

